Welcome      Jean-Pierre Perreault      Research      Publications      Team      Teaching      Links      Français

Professor Jean-Pierre Perreault, Ph.D.

 
 
Professor Jean-Pierre Perreault, Ph.D.
Researcher in molecular biology
Vice-President, Research and graduated studies
University of Sherbrooke
 
 

Native of Laval, Jean-Pierre Perreault successively completed a bachelor's degree program (1986), master's degree (1988) and doctorate (1990) in biochemistry at the Universiy of Montreal. Under the supervision of Dr. Robert J. Cedergren, he participated in the synthesis of the first RNA polymers, then mixed RNA / DNA polymers. He has also developed the use of these new molecules as tools in molecular biology for studying the structure-function relationships of RNAs, which are in fact the product of genes, as well as their use in pharmaceutical research and development. This pioneering work allowed him to receive the «Prix d'Excellence de l'Académie des Grands Montréalais» for the best thesis of the biomedical sector in 1991. He then completed a post-doctoral training at Yale University (1990-1993). Under the direction of Professor Sidney Altman, winner of the Nobel Prize for the discovery of catalytic RNAs, he worked on the characterization of RNase P, an enzyme essential for life.

Professor Perreault has been teaching at the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (FMHS) at the University of Sherbrooke since 1993. He has been a professor since 2002 in the Department of Biochemistry, where he was the director from 2004 to 2010. He directed the Graduate Master's and Doctoral Program in Biochemistry from 1995 to 2000 and the Bachelor of Biochemistry from 2004 to 2010. He developed one of the first courses offered via the Internet, which is now offered by other campuses universities in Canada. In 2009, he was appointed Associate Dean of Development for the FMSS. From 2010 to 2017, he was Vice-Dean, Research and Graduate Studies at the FMHS. He is now Vice-President, Research and Graduate Studies at University of Sherbrooke.

In terms of his research, he has developed a group that is interested in understanding how RNA molecules fold to adopt active structures capable of assuming different biological activities (ribozymes and G-quadruplex motifs). He is a molecular biologist expert in the enzymology of RNAs as well as the study of the smallest pathogens discovered to date, viroids. He held the Canada Research Chair in Catalytic Genomics and RNA from 2002 to 2009 and since then has been the University of Sherbrooke research chair on RNA structure and genomics. He is very active in the molecular engineering development of applications associated with the fundamental discoveries of his laboratory.

He was the first director of the RNA Biology Research Center (1999-2009) and a co-founder of RiboClub, the Canadian group of researchers interested in studying RNAs. He also chaired the Canadian Society for Biochemistry, Molecular and Cellular Biology, a body he served on for several years. Under his leadership, the organization became the Canadian Society for Molecular Biosciences.

Bienvenue      Jean-Pierre Perreault      Recherche      Publications      Équipe      Enseignement      Liens      English

Professeur Jean-Pierre Perreault, Ph.D.

 
 
Professeur Jean-Pierre Perreault, Ph.D.
Chercheur en biologie moléculaire,
Vice-recteur à la recherche et aux études supérieures
Université de Sherbrooke
 

Natif de Ville de Laval, Jean-Pierre Perreault a complété successivement un programme de baccalauréat (1986), maîtrise (1988) et doctorat (1990) en biochimie à l'Université de Montréal. Sous la supervision du Pr Robert J. Cedergren, il a participé à la synthèse des premiers polymères d'ARN, puis des polymères mixtes ARN/ADN. Il a aussi développé l'utilisation de ces nouvelles molécules comme outils en biologie moléculaire pour l'étude des relations structure-fonction des ARNs, qui sont en fait le produit des gènes, ainsi que leur utilisation en recherche et développement pharmaceutique. Ce travail avant-gardiste lui a permis de recevoir le Prix d'Excellence de l'Académie des Grands Montréalais pour la meilleure thèse du secteur biomédical en 1991. Il a ensuite complété une formation post-doctorale à l'Université Yale (1990-1993). Sous la direction du Pr Sidney Altman, lauréat du Prix Nobel pour la découverte des ARNs catalytiques, il a travaillé à la caractérisation de la RNase P, une enzyme essentielle à la vie.

Le Pr Perreault enseigne à la Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé (FMSS) de l'Université de Sherbrooke depuis 1993. Il est professeur titulaire depuis 2002 au Département de biochimie, dont il a été le directeur de 2004 à 2010. Il a dirigé le programme gradué de maîtrise et doctorat en biochimie de 1995 à 2000 ainsi que celui de baccalauréat en biochimie de 2004 à 2010. Il a développé l'un des premiers cours offerts via internet, cours qui est maintenant offert par d'autres campus universitaires au Canada. En 2009, il a été nommé doyen associé au développement de la FMSS. De 2010 à 2017, il a été vice-doyen à la recherche et aux études supérieures de la FMSS. Il est maintenant vice-recteur à la recherche à la recherche et aux études supérieures de l’Université de Sherbrooke.

Au plan de sa recherche, il a développé un groupe qui s’intéresse à comprendre comment les molécules d'ARN se replient pour adopter des structures actives capables d'assumer différentes activités biologiques (ribozymes et motifs G-quadruplexes). Il est biologiste moléculaire expert de l'enzymologie des ARNs ainsi que de l'étude des plus petits pathogènes découverts à ce jour, les viroïdes. Il a été titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en génomique et ARN catalytiques de 2002 à 2009 et depuis, la Chaire de recherche de l’Université de Sherbrooke sur la structure et la génomique de l’ARN. Il est très actif dans le développement par ingénierie moléculaire d’applications associées aux découvertes fondamentales de son laboratoire.

Il a été le premier directeur du Centre de Recherche de la Biologie de l'ARN (1999-2009) et un cofondateur du RiboClub, le regroupement canadien des chercheuses et chercheurs intéressés par l'étude des ARNs. Enfin, il a présidé la Société Canadienne de Biochimie, Biologie moléculaire et cellulaire, organisme dont il a siégé au conseil d'administration pendant plusieurs années. C’est sous son leadership que l’organisme est devenu la Société Canadienne des Biosciences Moléculaires.